Egg Industry News


Centers for Disease Control Reports on IFSAC Objectives

Apr 14, 2017


The Interagency Food Safety Analytics Collaboration (IFSAC) has published the objectives and lists of priority pathogens for the period 2017 through 2021. The IFSAC represents the combined resources of the Centers for Disease Control, the Food and Drug Administration and the USDA-Food Safety and Inspection Service.

Collaboration was established to achieve synergy between Federal agencies responsible for food safety. It is significant that administrators of the agencies concerned were motivated to establish the collaboration when legislators and commentators advocated the formation of a unified Food Safety Agency which would have combined the food-related functions of the FDA, USDA, Dept. of Homeland Security and other Federal entities.


The objectives for 2017 include:

  • Collection of relevant source data
  • Enhancing regulatory and foodborne illness surveillance
  • Applying genomic data to investigations
  • Expanding availability of technical and scientific expertise with internal and external partners
  • Improving the syntheses, interpretation and dissemination of analytical findings

Predictably, the IFSAC identified Salmonella, E.coli, Listeria monocytogenes and Campylobacter as the pathogens of significance in relation to food-borne infection. The IFSAC is involved in gathering data which can be used to establish policy and regulations. Ultimately, the actions taken by the collaborating agencies should reduce food-borne infection.